Books

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Ages 18+

The Dutch House

Ever since listening to James Franco narrate The Dead Zone by Stephen King, I have been more interested in audiobooks lately. I love going for walks and listening to them at the same time. Tom Hanks narrated The Dutch House and it was excellent. It was my first experience with an Ann Patchett book and I very much enjoyed the story. Narrated by one of the main character, Danny, we are taken through his life living at the Dutch House with his father and sister Maeve as well as life after he gets married and has his own children. A family saga filled with secrets and intrigue, The Dutch House is not to be missed!

Adult Fiction, Horror/Thriller, Science Fiction

The Dead Zone by Stephen King

Ages 18+

The Dead Zone

I listened to the audiobook version of this book and absolutely loved it! Johnny Smith had a hockey accident on the ice as a child, and then a car accident as an adult which left him in a coma for almost 5 years. His life not only drastically changed after he woke up from the coma, but he was given a special ability to see things both past and future just by touching people. Now he is on a case helping out the local sheriff, and a hometown hero. 

ARC Reviews, Romance

In A Holidaze by Christina Lauren

Ages 18+

In a Holidaze

Mae and Andrew’s families have been friends since their parents grew up together and they always vacation at her mom’s friend’s cabin during Christmastime. This year’s no different, except that Mae keeps experiencing the same days over and over, like in the movie Groundhog Day. Can she get out of the loop long enough to tell Andrew she’s been in love with him since she was a young teen? This book was amazing! I adored Mae and Andrew’s story and I couldn’t put it down. Christina Lauren doesn’t disappoint!

Romance

One To Watch by Kate Stayman-London

Ages 18+

53103895

Perfect for fans of The Bachelor franchise, One To Watch is a fun, exciting (fictionalized) view into the back end of The Bachelorette. Bea is a plus sized Instagram influencer who is approached by the show Main Squeeze to be the next bachelorette and have 25 men compete for her affection. She’s hesitant but agrees, but is determined to do it for her career, not for love. As someone who has never seen a full episode of The Bachelor or Bachelorette, ripped through this book and enjoyed it immensely!

Horror/Thriller

Little Secrets by Jennifer Hillier

Ages 18+

Little Secrets

Marin is devastated when her little son Sebastian is taken from her while she’s out shopping one day. A year later, Marin is living on autopilot without her son. She hired a private investigator to continue looking for her son after the police have stopped, but instead finds out that her husband is having an affair with another woman. Can Marin move on after so much heartache? 

Books, Romance, Series

The Best Goodbye by Abbi Glines

Ages 18+

The Best Goodbye (Rosemary Beach, #12)

The 12th installment of the Rosemary Beach series, Glines brings on the steamy romance! River “Captain” Kipling is ready to leave his crime-filled past as an employee of a well-none mob-boss and move on with his life. His new target is Rose Henderson, the cute redhead waitress at a local restaurant. He doesn’t know much about her, except that she’s a single mom, and wonders if she’d be interested in him, or if she knows anything about his past…

Adult Fiction, Horror/Thriller, Mystery

An Unwanted Guest by Shari Lapena

Ages 18+

An Unwanted GuestMitchell’s Inn in upstate New York seems like the perfect winter getaway. It has everything you’d want – it’s cozy and remote – then all hell breaks loose when the power goes out and someone turns up dead. The hotel guests are shocked, but not as shocked as when more bodies start turning up. Lapena’s modern day take on Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express, you’ll be guessing until the end!

Adventure, Animals, Middle Grade Fiction

Hooper Finds A Family: A Hurricane Katrina Dog’s Survival Tale by Jane Paley

Grades 3 – 5

Hooper Finds a Family: A Hurricane Katrina Dog's Survival Tale

This is adorably moving tale about a cuddly dog, what more could you want? Hooper lives in New Orleans, but is left homeless in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. He makes the long, hard trip all the way to New York, and is rescued by his new family. Will he adapt well or come apart at the seams?

Adult Fiction

My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell

Ages 18+

My Dark VanessaMy Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell is a stunning debut. Switching back and forth between 2000, when Vanessa is 15 years old, and 2017, when Vanessa is 32, the novel chronicles a teen’s illicit relationship with her teacher and the aftermath that follows years later. Vanessa thought she would have to take it to her grave, but now she has a chance 17 years later. Does she remain silent, or speak up?