ARC Reviews, Children, Graphic

The Secret Spiral of Swamp Kid by Kirk Scroggs

Grades 3 – 6 

The Secret Spiral of Swamp KidRussell Weinwright is a middle schooler who doesn’t look much like his classmates since he is pond scum, but he has friends (who have nicknamed him Swamp Kid) and loves to scribble in his notebook about everything! In this volume, he writes about what it’s like to be different and how to be comfortable just being himself. Kids will love his quirky personality and will probably relate to him on some level as well.

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

Children, Middle Grade Fiction

All the Impossible Things by Lindsay Lackey

Grades 3 – 7

Ruby Byrd, who likes to be called Red, is counting down the days when she can be back under the care of her mother, who is trying to get her life in order. Until then, Red is placed in foster care with Celine and Jackson Groove, an odd couple who run a petting zoo. Just when Red starts to like her new life with the Grooves, her mother comes back into her life like a raging storm. Will the courts allow her mother to gain custody once more?

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

 

Biography, Children

Epic Athletes: Alex Morgan by Dan Wetzel

Grades 3 – 6 

Alex Morgan is a soccer superstar and a role model for girls and soccer lovers of all ages. Her life and soccer career are chronicled in this biography about her in the Epic Athletes series by Dan Wetzel. Young Alex Morgan fans will love this book, and will be eager to read the rest of the series as well.

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

Children, Nonfiction

Armstrong: The Adventurous Journey of a Mouse to the Moon by Torben Kuhlmann

Grades 3 – 7

Chock full of facts about Neil Armstrong, outer space and NASA, this book will take readers on adventure to the moon and back. The text explains the history Apollo 11 in terms kids will understand and includes photos of the event as well. Readers will learn about a piece of our history that will never be forgotten and have a blast doing it!  

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

Children, Nonfiction

Code This Game by Meg Ray and Keith Zoo

Grades 4 – 6

Coding is so important for kids to understand these days, and it is an essential tool for the future. Code This Game teaches kids about Python, a coding language used to develop video games. They will learn to code their own version of Attack of the Vampire Pizzas, and then customize—or break—it the way they choose. Not only will Code This Game be a ton of fun for kids, it will enable them to learn a ton about coding and hacking that they’ll need in this digital age.

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

ARC Reviews, Middle Grade Fiction

Shine! by J.J. and Chris Grabenstein

Grades 4 – 6

Shine!

Twelve-year-old Piper’s hero is astronaut Nellie Dumont. The astronaut’s mantra is “shine on,” and Piper tries to follow it, but she thinks she’s not special enough to shine like other kids. On top of everything, Piper has just been enrolled in her new school, Chumley Prep, where she can’t seem to find her niche. This book is perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Wendy Mass.

Thanks to Netgalley.com for a review copy of this book.