ARC Reviews, Children, Historical Fiction, Middle Grade Fiction

Julie: The Big Break by Megan McDonald

Grades 3 – 5

The Big Break: A Julie Classic Volume 1

Julie is a young girl in the 1970s who loves shooting hoops with her dad. When she finds out there is a basketball team at her school, she desperately wants to join. However, the team is only for boys and there is no girls’ team. The coach laughs at her when she asks to join the boys’ team, and she is crushed. Julie decides to fight for her place on the team anyway, but will she succeed?
Thanks to SLJ for a review copy of this book.
ARC Reviews, Children, Graphic, Middle Grade Fiction

Green Lantern: Legacy by Minh Le

Grades 3 – 5

Thirteen-year-old Tai Pham loves comic books and has tons of sketchbooks of his own in his apartment above his grandmother’s store. When he inherits his grandmother’s ring, he realizes it’s magical powers and is soon initiated into a group of space cops knowns as the Green Lanterns. When his neighborhood is vandalized, he must come to the rescue as a hero.
Thanks to SLJ for a review copy of this book.
ARC Reviews, Children, Historical Fiction, Middle Grade Fiction

Melody: No Ordinary Sound by Denise Lewis Park

Grades 3 – 5

Melody: No Ordinary Sound

This book takes place in the 1960s, when Black Americans faced segregation and civil injustice. Nine-year-old Melody is excited to sing her first solo at her church’s Youth Day, and has to choose the songs she sings wisely. She elicits advice from her older brother and sister, and is inspired by Martin Luther King, Jr. Then, when tragedy strikes, Melody is stunned into silence. Can she find her voice again and speak out for civil rights?

Thanks to SLJ for a review copy of this book.

ARC Reviews, Children, Middle Grade Fiction

Under the Broken Sky by Mariko Nagai

Grades 4 – 6

Under the Broken Sky

This novel in verse follows twelve-year-old Natsu and her family who live in Manchuria, near the Soviet Union during World War II. Then Natsu’s father joins the Japanese Army, and she and her younger sister Asa are left to fend for themselves. Desperate to save Asa’s life, Natsu sells Asa to a Russian family after the Soviet occupation, with the ultimate goal of getting her back and making her family whole again.

Thanks to SLJ for a review copy of this book.

ARC Reviews, Children, Middle Grade Fiction

Pie in the Sky by Remy Lai

Grades 3 – 6

Pie in the Sky is the name of the bakery Jingwen’s father had planned to open back home before he unexpectedly passed away. Forced to move to Australia with his mom and annoying little brother Yanghao, Jingwen feels lost and alone, because he can’t speak English very well and he has major culture shock. He tries to cheer himself up by imagining all the fancy cakes his father would have baked. His mother forbids Jingwen or his brother from using the oven without supervision, so when they bake cakes when she’s not home, they make up intricate stories to hide it from her. Fans of Timmy Failure and the Middle School series will love this book, whose format is part prose and part graphic format.  

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

ARC Reviews, Middle Grade Fiction

More to the Story by Hena Khan

Grades 4 – 7

More to the Story

A modern retelling of Little Women, More to the Story follows Jameela Mirza and her three sisters, Muslim American girls living in Georgia. Jam has just been picked as feature editor for the school paper at her middle school. She is very excited to start her assignment, but the editor keeps shooting down her story ideas. When Jam’s father is sent overseas for work for 6 months, she becomes more determined to write the best article possible and make him proud.

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

Children, Middle Grade Fiction

All the Impossible Things by Lindsay Lackey

Grades 3 – 7

Ruby Byrd, who likes to be called Red, is counting down the days when she can be back under the care of her mother, who is trying to get her life in order. Until then, Red is placed in foster care with Celine and Jackson Groove, an odd couple who run a petting zoo. Just when Red starts to like her new life with the Grooves, her mother comes back into her life like a raging storm. Will the courts allow her mother to gain custody once more?

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

 

ARC Reviews, Middle Grade Fiction

Shine! by J.J. and Chris Grabenstein

Grades 4 – 6

Shine!

Twelve-year-old Piper’s hero is astronaut Nellie Dumont. The astronaut’s mantra is “shine on,” and Piper tries to follow it, but she thinks she’s not special enough to shine like other kids. On top of everything, Piper has just been enrolled in her new school, Chumley Prep, where she can’t seem to find her niche. This book is perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm and Wendy Mass.

Thanks to Netgalley.com for a review copy of this book.

Adventure, Children, Graphic, Middle Grade Fiction

Max & The Midknights by Lincoln Pierce

Grades 3 – 5

Image result for max and the midknights

Max and the Midknights is the first book in a new series by the author of Big Nate, Lincoln Peirce. It is about a girl named Max, who lives with her Uncle Budrick during the Middle Ages. Budrick is a troubadour—a traveling entertainer—who has dubbed himself “Sir Budrick.” In the Middle Ages, “sir” is the title for a knight, but Uncle Budrick isn’t actually a knight; he is just using “Sir Budrick” as a stage name. When Uncle Budrick gets kidnapped by King Ghastley, it is up to Max to come to the rescue! Read Max & the Midknights to find out what happens in Lincoln Peirce’s newest adventure.

Adventure, Children, Middle Grade Fiction

The Lost Girl by Anne Ursu

Grades 3 – 5

Image result for the lost girl anne ursu

Iris and Lark are twin sisters who look identical on the outside but couldn’t be more different on the inside. For instance, Iris always knew where she left her shoe and when her library books were due. Lark could always tell when her parents fought and which library book she wanted to check out next. In fifth grade, the girls are split in two different classes, and something changes in each of them. The Lost Girl by Anne Ursu is their story.