Memoirs, Nonfiction

Tell Me Everything by Erika Krouse

Ages 18+

This book is part memoir and part true crime, and hooked me right from the beginning. Krouse has one of those faces; the kind of face that makes people – complete strangers – come right out and tell her their darkest secrets. She has no idea why, and doesn’t know what to do about it, until the day she meets Grayson, a lawyer who also tells her a secret…and then asks her to work for him as a private investigator. Her first case is a big one, and she’s determined to crack it wide open.    

Memoirs, Nonfiction

Corrections In Ink by Keri Blakinger

Ages 18+

Perfect for fans of Orange Is the New Black (the book or the show), Corrections In Ink is Blakinger’s memoir about her experience as a competitive figure skater and her time in prison. Once she stopped skating, she got into all kinds of trouble, and finally got arrested by the cops for it, ultimately spending time behind bars for two years. Upon her release, Blakinger became a reporter and dedicated her career to exposing the flaws in our prison system. 

ARC Reviews, Nonfiction

Remember by Lisa Genova

Ages 18+

Remember: The Science of Memory and the Art of Forgetting

Remember is a nonfiction book by neuroscientist and author Lisa Genova about memories and the brain. She discusses how the brains of people with Alzheimer’s work as well as why we remember traumatic experiences, like exactly where we were when 9/11 happened, but not what we ate for dinner last Wednesday. This is because the routine things in our lives are just that – routine, nothing special, and when something out of the ordinary happens, we are most likely to remember it. An in depth look at the brain and our memories, this book definitely piqued my interest and made me want to learn more.     

Thanks to Netgalley for a review copy of this book.

ARC Reviews, Nonfiction

Torpedoed: The True Story of the World War II Sinking of the Children’s Ship by Deborah Heiligman

Grades 9 – 12
Torpedoed: The True Story of the World War II Sinking of "The Children's Ship"

This book is the intense story of children whose parents sent them away on boats during World War II in order to save their lives. The passenger ship SS City of Benares left for Canada in 1940 with 100 children and chaperones. However, the warships escorting the Benares got torpedoed, putting everyone in danger. Some survived and many did not, and this is their story.

Thanks to SLJ for a review copy of this book.

 

 

Books, Humor, Nonfiction

Your Move: What Board Games Teach Us About Life by Joan Moriarty and Jonathan Kay

Ages 18+

Image result for your move book

The back and forth of the two authors’ analysis of the assortment of games discussed in this book was delightful to read. Each had insight to offer – a lot with a bit of humor – as he or she explained how each game is played and what we as a society can learn from it. What a great book!

Thanks to Netgalley.com for a review copy of this book.

Children, Nonfiction

Armstrong: The Adventurous Journey of a Mouse to the Moon by Torben Kuhlmann

Grades 3 – 7

Chock full of facts about Neil Armstrong, outer space and NASA, this book will take readers on adventure to the moon and back. The text explains the history Apollo 11 in terms kids will understand and includes photos of the event as well. Readers will learn about a piece of our history that will never be forgotten and have a blast doing it!  

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

Children, Nonfiction

Code This Game by Meg Ray and Keith Zoo

Grades 4 – 6

Coding is so important for kids to understand these days, and it is an essential tool for the future. Code This Game teaches kids about Python, a coding language used to develop video games. They will learn to code their own version of Attack of the Vampire Pizzas, and then customize—or break—it the way they choose. Not only will Code This Game be a ton of fun for kids, it will enable them to learn a ton about coding and hacking that they’ll need in this digital age.

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.

Biography, Children, Nonfiction

Counting On Katherine by Helaine Becker

Grades 3 – 5

Counting on Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Saved Apollo 13

Counting on Katherine by Helaine Becker is a biography about Katherine Johnson, the mathematician who calculated the flight path for NASA’s first moon landing in 1969. The book starts out by telling readers about Katherine’s childhood and her lifelong love of math. It then goes on to explain how she became a mathematician when she grew up, and how she saved Apollo 13.

Children, Nonfiction

The Sun Is Kind of a Big Deal by Nick Seluk

Grades 2 – 4

Chock full of true facts and fun illustrations, this nonfiction book about the sun is sure to be a hit! Did you know that the sun is actually our Solar System’s star? Or that the sun is the biggest thing in the Solar System? The Earth is the third planet from the sun, and it people used to use it to tell time. You can find these and tons of other facts about the sun when you read The Sun Is Kind of a Big Deal by Nick Seluk.

ARC Reviews, Children, Nonfiction

Epic Fails: The Wright Brothers: Nose-Diving Into History by Ben Thompson

Grades 3 – 5epic fails

Comparable to the Who Is…series, this non-fiction account of Orville and Wilbur Wright’s difficult feat of trying to fly a plane is both interesting and informative. Kids will marvel in the trials of the Wright Brothers and their ultimate success.

Thanks to School Library Journal for a review copy of this book.